The cart is empty
Subsribe Now to our Weekly Newsletter

HortiTrends is NOW Horticulture Connected


Today's News

Today's News

Featured News

Featured News
Impact of the Decision To Leave the EU

Impact of the Decision To Leave the EU

It is now clear that the British people have made the choice to leave the European Union. The countr...


Limerick Communities in Bloom as Judging Stage Draws Near

44 communities from across County Limerick are busily preparing for the judging stages of the 6th annual Limerick in Bloom competition which takes place early next week. Limerick County Council, in conjunction with the JP McManus Charitable Foundation, have hosted the competition since 2008 as a motivational mechanism for the many small local based groups throughout Limerick to enhance the visual impact of their settlements by means of flower, tree and shrub planting.

Limerick in Bloom 2013 features 7 community groups participating for the first time, namely Nicker Village, Feenagh Tidy Towns, Askeaton Heritage & Tidy Towns Association, Elm Vale Residents Association (Annacotty), Hospital Voluntary Housing Association, Ros Fearna Residents Association, Garanbawn Residents Committee and Gilmartin Park Residents Association (Murroe).

Competition categories are based on population size with a first, second and third prize in each category. Category 1 features villages with a population less than 300, Category 2 is for population centres of between 300 and 700 people, Category 3 caters for towns and villages with a population in excess of 700, and Category 4 includes Housing Estates and Community Areas.

Last year’s competition was won by Kilteely Tidy Towns Association while category winners included Adare Tidy Towns, Kilteely/Dromkeen Housing Association and Broadford Development Association.

According to Councillor Leo Walsh, Chair of the Council’s Environment SPC: “The recent fine spell of weather has certainly helped Limerick’s communities prepare for this year’s competition and has also helped to further enhance the physical appearance of many of the county’s towns and villages.”

Cllr. Walsh, whose own local village of Ballyneety is also participating in this year’s competition, added: “This annual awards scheme is a celebration of all that is good about the vibrant community and spirit that exists throughout Limerick. I want to acknowledge the work being carried out by community groups and residents associations behind the scenes and thank them for their valuable contribution to their respective housing estates, villages, and towns.”

Josephine Cotter-Coughlan, Director of Environment Services, explained that Limerick in Bloom continues to attract new participants each year and has developed into “a wonderful mechanism for further enhancing the appearance of our towns and villages”.

“While the competitive element of the competition does provide an added incentive to participants, it is clear that the people of Limerick are strongly committed to making their towns and villages more attractive places to visit, live in and work in. The Council, with the support of the JP McManus Charitable Foundation, is delighted to have played its part in this process,” she added.

The participants in Limerick in Bloom 2013 are:

  • CATEGORY 1 - Knockainey Tidy Towns, Carrigkerry Development Group, Knocklong Tidy Towns Assoc., Kilmeedy Community Development Group Ltd., Old Pallas Residents Association, Nicker Village, Feenagh Tidy Towns, Anglesborough Tidy Towns Committee, Strand Tidy Towns, Kilfinny Community Council, Ardpatrick Tidy Towns, Croagh Community Council, Glenbrohane Tidy Towns Group, Ardagh Development Association, Galbally Tidy Towns and Kilteely Tidy Towns Association.
  • CATEGORY 2 - Clarina Tidy Towns, Ballyneety Tidy Towns, Oola Tidy Towns, Pallasgreen Residents Association, Askeaton Heritage & Tidy Towns Association, Athea Tidy Towns Committee and Broadford Development Association.
  • CATEGORY 3 - Murroe Tidy Towns, Annacotty Tidy Towns Committee, Hospital Tidy Towns, Castleconnell Tidy Towns, Croom Community Development, Bruff Tidy Towns, Adare Tidy Towns, Kilmallock Tidy Towns and Patrickswell Tidy Towns.
  • CATEGORY 4 - Cloverfield Complex Daycare & Houses, Cappamore Estates Committee, Kilteely/Dromkeen Housing Association, Hospital Voluntary Housing Association, Ros Fearna Residents Association, Garanbawn Residents Committee, Gilmartin Park Residents Association (Murroe), Forest View Residents (Kilfinane), Glencairin Residents Association, Elm Vale Residents Association (Annacotty), Drombanna Voluntary Housing Associations, and Gouldavoher Residents Association (Dooradoyle).

Source: HortiTrends News Room