The cart is empty
Subsribe Now to our Weekly Newsletter

HortiTrends is NOW Horticulture Connected


IOH Young Horticulturist of the Year Quiz


Following a large entry into the 2012 Young Horticulturists of the Year (YHOY) heats of the Irish Branch of the Institute of Horticulture, where eight organisations and a total of 270 contestants took part, we can now announce the finalists taking part in the forthcoming Regional Final at the National Botanic Gardens.

The overall winner of this prestigious competition will then be going forward to the Grand Final at the Botanical Gardens in Edinburgh in the UK where he / she will compete against seven other Regional Final winners from across Britain.

The IoH Irish Branch YHOY Competition is generously sponsored by Bord Bia, without whose support the competition would not exist.

The IoH Irish Branch Regional Finalists for 2012 are:

  • Cara Traymore, Cork Institute of Technology, Co. Cork
  • Tom Farrer, Kildalton College, Co. Kilkenny
  • Declan McKenna, Greenmount Campus, Northern Ireland
  • Cristopher Foye, Greenmount Campus, Northern Ireland
  • Michael Yallop, Institute of Technology Blanchardstown, Co. Dublin
  • Jarra Braidwood, National Botanic Gardens, Co. Dublin
  • Colm Maher, National Botanic Gardens, Co. Dublin
  • Mark Flahive, Open heat entrance, Dublin

The regional final consist of eleven rounds of questions that spans the whole spectrum of horticulture. It includes three identification rounds, questions answered through a buzzer system and directed questions to each contestant. The prizes for this year are €200.00 for 1st place, €150.00 for 2nd place and €125.00 for 3rd place. In addition the winner will receive a Rollins Bulldog Tools Spade and Fork set and will give him or herself the chance to win a £2000.00 Travel Bursary sponsored by the Percy Thrower Trust at the Grand Final on May 5th.

The Regional Final commences in the Teagasc College of Amenity Horticulture Classrooms in the National Botanic Gardens, followed by a small reception and prize presentations. All welcome to attend.

» see event details